フォーラム » FFXIAH.com » News » Forum Changes
Forum Changes
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
サーバ: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2011-04-19 17:47:17  
Hey guys, hope I can have your attention for a moment.

As anyone who's been around here for awhile probably knows, I'm a pretty lenient admin.

The forum rules are more like subjective guidelines. We're perhaps overly-forgiving in our disciplinary measures, choosing to slowly escalate issues from private warnings, un-indexing topics from the main page, topic bans, temp bans, etc. We work through problems in private, out of respect for user privacy. The number of people actually permanently banned from the site is surprisingly few: no more than a few dozen over 4 years.

Well, we have a problem.

You may have noticed that the number of ads, etc, on the site has been on the decline. Today, Google pulled their ads off the site entirely, citing that the amount of sheer profanity, nastiness, and other behavior exhibited on the forums was so bad, they no longer want to be associated with our brand. In other words, the behavior of our forum users has now put the future of the site itself at actual, tangible risk.

The blame here is shared. On one hand, it's our users' fault -- particularly a handful of regulars -- who have repeatedly refused to act with even a modicum of decency. But on the other hand, it's our fault for being too vague, too lenient, and failing to clearly delineate where the line is and take consistent, public action when it's been crossed.

-----------------------

So, some changes are coming.

I'm still working out exactly what they will be, but you can expect a lot less leniency towards posts that are profane, hostile, indecent, or target certain people or groups.