users online
フォーラム » FFXI » Jobs » Dark Knight » Drain Testing: Potency+ Vs. Affinity+
Drain Testing: Potency+ Vs. Affinity+
 Sylph.Brahmsz
サーバ: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: Khronos
By Sylph.Brahmsz 2016-07-21 18:00:57  
Forewarning: I'm just beginning testing on this. Since everyone on the guide thread appears to be more concerned with RMEA and Weapon skill Sets at this point, I'm putting my focus and attention on my utility sets while I slowly whittle away at my Apocalypse on the side. This will take some time so I will be updating as I go along.

OK! Now that I've gotten that out of the way...

I don't know about anyone else but this has been bugging me for a while whether Dark Affinity+ will genuinely overtake Drain Potency+ gear over all. The easiest slots I can test this out on are Head and Body comparing a Pixie Hairpin+1 Vs. a NQ Lugra Cloak. (I'm using NQ since it's a flat +30% and I want to compare with a flat round number)

Side Note: Since I don't actually own one, I'm borrowing a Hairpin from friend(s).

Starting with small sample size:
10 Drain III casts on Lv.0 Rabbits in West Ronfaure Naked.
HP: 1749 / Dark Magic Skill 456

841 Highest (So Far)
655 Lowest (So Far)

Average: 758.9 HP Drained.
 Asura.Azagarth
サーバ: Asura
user: Azagarth
By Asura.Azagarth 2016-07-21 18:38:45  
I will love you for this!! I have been wondering about how to go about gearing for those nasty 9999 drain mb. If anyone has the perfect drain set, please post it, will help us see what the poster is testing a bit easier.
 Sylph.Brahmsz
By Sylph.Brahmsz 2016-07-21 19:56:44  
This is my current Drain III set. It's not complete however. Still missing 3-4 items here and there but I'm happy so far with the results I've gotten (On anything that isn't plain immune to Drain that is...)

ItemSet 344870
Edit: Niht Mantle Augment for Drain is Drain Potency +23.