フォーラム » FFXI » Valefor » Decimate LS!
Decimate LS!
 Valefor.Valus
サーバ: Valefor
Game: FFXI
user: Valus
By Valefor.Valus 2009-05-08 23:18:26  
A Bit of Background

I think it is important to take risks to grab something you want, even if it's dumb or silly. I've been playing FFXI since October 2003- slightly after NA PC release. I've always had a love/hate relationship with the game- quit many times, came back, switched servers to follow friends, etc. I think a lot of us are like that. I was never very serious about the game and considered playing to just be something to kill time. Eventually, in 2008, I had the joy of playing in my first serious endgame shell on Midgardsormr (Anomaly). I really enjoyed it- loved doing events with close friends and learning how to play. I owe a lot of my experience to shell and I thank them for honestly teaching me how to play. However, there was always something missing. While everything was run professionally and nearly all events were wins, I was still unsatisfied. I looked at the gear on some people on the server. I would never wear an Aces Helm. I'd always wanted one. I wouldn't have an Apoc either... even though I always wanted one. I began to become jealous of these people- almost to the point of contempt. It was my fault for staying where I was though- if I wanted that stuff, I had to work for it. I was pretty happy with the event schedule of my old shell but I wanted more. I began to ask around about possible endgame shells on the server. I spoke with some close friends in private about my options. A friend of mine in real life mentioned that he wanted to start a shell on another server and that he was recruiting people for cross server. He showed me he had a list of folks who already had dedicated themselves to doing this. He wanted to know if I wanted in. I spent a great deal of time debating and thinking: was I happy with my current shell? Didn't I crave a bit more? After some serious debating, I decided to take the plunge