フォーラム » FFXI » Jobs » Thief » For the Shinies! A Guide for Thief
For the Shinies! A Guide for Thief
First Page 2 3 ... 241 242 243 ... 262 263 264
 Quetzalcoatl.Khajit
サーバ: Quetzalcoatl
Game: FFXI
user: Khajit
By Quetzalcoatl.Khajit 2021-05-14 03:41:45  
I almost never get full buffs so I've been able to be lazy, but those acc mode toggles for ws seem kinda useless for thf under normal circumstances and easily repurposed into atk cap sets under most lua.
サーバ: Sylph
By Sylph.Timepassesbye 2021-05-14 06:07:38  
Asura.Buffyslyph said: »
1. Assuming I have a mastered thf and the TH3 job trait, does that mean I need +5 in gear for the initial +8?

2. Do I need to have +11 in gear to eventually proc up to TH14 or can I do it in my +5 in gear? From reading the thread there is quite a lot of discourse on this question, and I'm not trying to troll. Asked another way, if I'm +5 in gear can I get TH procs that go up to TH14 or will I cap at TH8?

so as was stated, yes, you would only need an additional TH 5 in gear to get your base 8.

regarding how you then get to 14- there is some confusion on this topic, but with each melee attack, you have a chance to proc TH and add another level.
things that increase that chance
-crit hits
-weapon skills
-sneak attack
-trick attack
-feint (at 5/5 it doubles your proc chance on the next attack despite the numbers saying 100%)

there is no clear cut math on this formula, but the generally understood concept is that when you attack, you have a % chance to proc to the next tier. beyond being effected by the above variables, there is an innate chance that is calculated by your current TH gear compared to your current TH level.

so for arguments sake, let's say you have TH 8 in gear, so your base hit will proc TH 8
I'm making these numbers up for this argument, but there is some information floating around with similar margins.