Random 1-3 Sec Freezes After Update

Eorzea Time
 
 
 
言語: JP EN FR DE
日本語版のFFXIVPRO利用したい場合は、上記の"JP"を設定して、又はjp.ffxivpro.comを直接に利用してもいいです
users online
フォーラム » Windower » General » Random 1-3 sec freezes after update
Random 1-3 sec freezes after update
 Odin.Slore
Offline
サーバ: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Slore
Posts: 1082
By Odin.Slore 2018-12-17 15:00:23  
OK dual boxing was running fine. Brand new computer 1080ti vid card. I am getting times where I freeze up for a couple seconds on both toons at same time. It is like game is freezing up but then comes back. I run dual monitors and no dgvudu. Anyone else experiencing these issue and have a fix?
 Leviathan.Comeatmebro
Offline
サーバ: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: Rairin
Posts: 5831
By Leviathan.Comeatmebro 2018-12-17 15:14:06  
with a 1080Ti you really should be using dgvoodoo
 Odin.Slore
Offline
サーバ: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Slore
Posts: 1082
By Odin.Slore 2018-12-17 15:23:32  
Oh. I remember back before I got this system I used it with my alienware area 51 (dual 1080gtx's) but I put that in my sons room as he plays more games, I only play ffxi. I was unaware of the recommendation for a Ti.

Great now to figure out how to set this up again. Had a hard time last time as it would not display npc's or my toon just names. A friend helped me set it up.
By Jetackuu 2018-12-17 15:55:35  
Normally don't help people who reference their "player character" as a "toon" but it sounds like you're having network lag to me.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 9970
By Draylo 2018-12-17 15:59:11  
It only works in Toon Town, anyone remember that MMO
 Odin.Slore
Offline
サーバ: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Slore
Posts: 1082
By Odin.Slore 2018-12-17 17:47:00  
Is alt better? I have 1gig cable net but seems odd it just started.
Offline
Posts: 9147
By Zerowone 2018-12-17 17:47:22  
Try restarting. Had a similar issue after the most recent update (the freezing up for 3-7s). But corrected itself after a hook update.

Since it’s a new rig make sure you got legacy features and direct play enabled.

Keep in mind you can play the game off a modern day CPU without a dedicated GPU.

Ex: i5 8250u runs it just fine.

Edit: if you’re using Windower it might be a bad plugin or hook update. There was a couple this past weekend.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 399
By kireek 2018-12-17 19:46:28  
If you are using windower, try without it cause some plugins can cause this after an update.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 4
By Kreed89 2018-12-17 21:18:40  
Do you notice some sort of "chime" when this happens? That's the issue I'm having. Refocusing the window by Alt-Tabbing twice fixes it faster, or I can wait a few seconds. At first I thought this was because maybe some device was connecting to the computer, but I've tried turning every bluetooth/autoplay setting off that I can and it's still happening.
Offline
By ocean 2018-12-17 21:44:37  
Leviathan.Comeatmebro said: »
with a 1080Ti you really should be using dgvoodoo

Could you explain/elaborate porfavor?
By Jetackuu 2018-12-17 21:50:40  
Also for the lulz if you aren't using a controller, disable it.
Offline
Posts: 653
By Nyarlko 2018-12-17 22:10:25  
Could be Windows downloading an update. I just got hit w/ them on all three of my laptops. Windows Update running in the "background" can suck up a huge amount of resources.
 Leviathan.Comeatmebro
Offline
サーバ: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: Rairin
Posts: 5831
By Leviathan.Comeatmebro 2018-12-18 10:16:28  
ocean said: »
Could you explain/elaborate porfavor?

You certainly aren't running out of vram or considering maxing out your gpu if you have a card that good, and nvidia's had pretty consistant driver issues with ffxi for the last 3-4 generations. Unless you really really need the default mouse cursor, it's a solid improvement to be using dgvoodoo(shift more load to your super nice gpu, uses more streamlined functions, and option of adding in resharper for a more noticable graphical improvement.. if you do have nvidia crashes it's likely to fix them).

If it were a 5 year old piece of ***card, there'd be more of a give and take since the added GPU load may not actually improve performance. That said, in almost all cases dgvoodoo is still worth having imo.
[+]
Offline
By ocean 2018-12-18 11:49:03  
Leviathan.Comeatmebro said: »
ocean said: »
Could you explain/elaborate porfavor?

You certainly aren't running out of vram or considering maxing out your gpu if you have a card that good, and nvidia's had pretty consistant driver issues with ffxi for the last 3-4 generations. Unless you really really need the default mouse cursor, it's a solid improvement to be using dgvoodoo(shift more load to your super nice gpu, uses more streamlined functions, and option of adding in resharper for a more noticable graphical improvement.. if you do have nvidia crashes it's likely to fix them).

If it were a 5 year old piece of ***card, there'd be more of a give and take since the added GPU load may not actually improve performance. That said, in almost all cases dgvoodoo is still worth having imo.


Ah, thank you!